The Woman at the Gates

For as long as she could remember, Antonia's Carpathian village had sliding panels and secret doors. The music of their defiance sustained her.

1944, Germany: Gazing through the barbed wire fence, up at the pale blue sky, Antonia dreams of her home in Ukraine: cherry orchards, golden fields, and the man she loves, whom she may never see again…

The Nazi soldier thrust the barrel of his gun between Antonia’s shoulder blades and she stumbled, still clutching the hand of her youngest nephew. Her sister lifted her other little boy into the back of the truck. Under the threatening gaze of the Germans, the sisters’ eyes met, dark and fearful. Antonia looked back towards the village one last time before the flap dropped and locked them in total darkness.

Before Antonia and her family were captured and sent to a slave labor camp, she was a fighter rather than a victim. Her resistance group, made up of young men and women from the same Carpathian village, struggled to free their country from those who had turned it into a bloody battleground. By her side was clever, handsome Viktor—the man she was to marry, and whose love shone like a light even when dark and violent conflicts engulfed them.

Antonia does not know if her beloved Viktor has been caught or executed. There are rumors the war is coming to an end but she cannot wait to be saved. Her precious nephews will die without proper food. The Nazis might require every able body to push back against the Red Tide, but Antonia also knows she or the others could be killed at any moment.

Outside the camp gates, the war is raging but Antonia must find a way through them, even if means putting her own life on the line. The Nazis may have taken nearly everything from her – her country, her dreams, her passions – but the enemy will never take away her fierce courage…

Inspired by the author’s research into her family’s and community’s histories, this is a heartbreaking, inspiring and totally unforgettable story of the faith, courage and determination of those who survived the darkest days of the war. Fans of Mandy Robotham, Kate Quinn and Pam Jenoff will be gripped from the very first page until the final, heart-stopping conclusion.

Buy it here!
For as long as she could remember, Antonia's Carpathian village had sliding panels and secret doors. The music of their defiance sustained her.

Readers love Chrystyna Lucyk-Berger

Absolutely heartbreakingGripped me from the first page and I read it in one sitting!Will stay with me for a long time.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Fantastic!!! There wasn’t a moment when I wasn’t gripped!My heart really achedIncredibly gripping!” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Kept me up all night and I finished this book with tears in my eyes after I read the ending!… Powerful, gripping… Unputdownable… Five stars!Tropical Girl Reads Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A gripping story that will stay with you long after you have put it down… I highly recommend.” NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I could barely put down the book. I smiled, cried… I recommend it to all history lovers!” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

What a story!I loved the ending!” NetGalley reviewer

Grab a few tissues… Such a powerful story you must read.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I loved Magda… A unique and gripping novel. It was hard to put it down.” NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Gripping read… Magda is a compelling heroine… The authenticity of time and place was captured so well.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Wonderful intense readSo vivid you will feel you are there. I could not put this story down. I loved the book.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Riveting, intense… From the very beginning you feel like you’re amidst the chaos, the heartbreak, the despair but also the incredible bravery and spirit of the people in WWII.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Also part of the World War II Series

Dive into the Reschen Valley Series

Get the whole series

Available as ebook, paperback and audiobook (Season 1 only)

get each book individually

Book 1
A plan to flood a valley. A means to destroy a culture.

1920. Former Austrian Tyrol. The Great War is over but a new conflict has begun. When Katharina Thaler finds an injured Italian veteran on her mountain, saving him will thrust both into a labyrinth of prejudice, corruption and greed.

Book 2
Burying the past comes at a high price...

1924. Northern Italy. When the Fascist floodgates burst, Katharina must reach out to the one man whom she’s sworn to forget. Follows directly after No Man’s Land.

Book 3
On the journey to discovering who she is, Annamarie finds out who she is not.

1937. South Tyrol. Annamarie snaps up her ticket out of the Reschen Valley in the form of a politician’s son and fascist uniform. But the confrontations have just begun…

New Release!
Book 4
It's a dangerous time to be a dissident...


1938. South Tyrol. Hitler and Mussolini join forces and the regimes deal with the Tyrolean “question” with a plan to divide and conquer. Katharina and Angelo align with old enemies to form a strong front. The last book in the award-winning series.

The Prequel
Pride goes before the fall.

1900s South Tyrol. Fritz Hanny, the antagonist in the first two books of the series, creates and descends into his own hell.